• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

My two retro PCs (third is still work in progress)

This is insanity. I wouldn't even consider a 286 "vintage" and I'm only 36.
Why? They're an '80s vintage processor. Old is probably the more appropriate term to what folk refer to as "vintage computers". Retro is often used these days but when it comes down to it it is just a fancy term for old/old fashion.

Last edited:

lol, I'm 33, and to me a 286 is "vintage", mainly because it is 16 bit, and the current generation is rapidly approaching 64 bit.

Anything capable of 64 bit computing is definitely not vintage, lol.

32 bit is a grey area.

I graduated from high school in 1996 and games like Doom and Wolfenstein 3D (both of which require a 386) were popular. I used to play Terminal Velocity in high school, and it requires a 486, which is a 32 bit processor, but way more powerful than a 386. Hence, from my perspective, the 386 is definitely vintage, and the 486 may be as well.

So I do agree with others that, at least in the 32 bit domain, it depends on what you grew up with. :)

--Brian

the majority of the available programs are still written in 32bit. it will take some until I can't see any *32 processes anymore :)

I am a little confused by this statement. Computers have been 64bit capable for at least 5 or so years now. The hardware was way before the software was.

True. It would have been accurate to say "The combination of hardware and software which forms the current mainstream PC platform will be fully 64 bit in the near future." ;-)

Point being that any PC capable of 64 bit computing is definitely not vintage. Although, once most mainstream users have a 64 bit OS and mostly 64 bit applications, and are using multicore processors, a processor which is 64 bit but only single core will be in the grey area of potential vintage, just as a 386 is potentially vintage, despite the fact that both it and the Pentium are 32 bit. ;)

--Brian

--Brian