• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

XTIDE tech support thread

Guessing that the MO drive is presenting itself as more of a removable media/CD-ROM drive, of which you would need additional drivers to get to work.
that's a guess. I've never worked with one o' those before. That additional driver would need to be written/modified to use the slightly tweaked IDE ports that the XTIDE card gives us to work with. A CF device is more IDE-like than CD-ROM is, and that's why XTIDE supports it natively.

Guessing that the MO drive is presenting itself as more of a removable media/CD-ROM drive.....

Yes, that's what I thought and seem to recall from the 90's. I have a Future Domain TMC 850 8 bit SCSI card which will however see the MO drive and so I'll use XTIDE for CF on one machine and SCSI on the other. Pity though, magneto Optical drives appeared in the late eighties from memory, with a capacity of 128MB, and so installing one in an IBM XT keeps the machine 80'sish if you exclude the fact that the MO drive may be 2.3GB instead of 128MB (they are all fully backwards compatible from .128 to 2.3GB which is very nice).

I've just got the XT-IDE BIOS (2.0) installed in a 386 system, as I mentioned in another thread, and I had a couple of questions.

First, on drive-detect, it claims "Error 80h," but there seems to be no trouble with the drive whatsoever: recognizes the full capacity, partitions, formats and boots without issue. Is this indicative of anything, or just a quirk?

Second, I currently have it burned with interrupts disabled (I *think* my multi-I/O card supports IRQ 15 for IDE, but I'm not certain and just wanted to get it up and running.) Being as DOS is fundamentally single-tasking anyway, that's no problem for DOS, and Windows probably won't get much boost out of it either, but I am considering giving OS/2 a shot - would it be worth it to try and get it using IRQs for that?