• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

What's the WORST setup you've ever done/used/seen?

The title of this thread is "What's the WORST setup you've ever done/used/seen?" so does that mean running new software (with higher demands) on old hardware (with lower capabilities) as has been suggested? It seems to me that you can get as better or worse as you like by the choices you make. Try running KDE on an old laptop. It's useless, but any sensible person would move in the other direction and use fluxbox. I'm sure MS-Windows users also can chose how well or badly their system runs by over or under specifying either the hardware or software. There's no surprises there. Personal choice the whole way. :)

I recently acquired a computer which had a fresh copy of Windows 7 Professional on it, so thought I'd give it a try. Now I have no real experience with this, but quickly discovered that I couldn't do anything useful with it because there were not all the utilities and programs that I take for granted. It didn't even have the famous "Word" on it which is what I was expecting. It seems you have to download and install that stuff, possibly even go out and buy it. That was a showstopper for me. Now somebody else with MS skills, and probably a collection of ready-to-go programs and utilities, would have called that a perfectly good setup because they would be willing to deal with it. To me it was just a "bad setup". Personal choice the whole way. :)

Windows 8 Consumer Preview (I believe) on a 633 MHz Celeron with 128 MB ram, or a downgraded Dell Optiplex GX150. Graphics were Monochrome, I ate up all the ram by doing nothing (as well as the cpu) and enjoyed 40 minute boot times.

As for hardware, I had to help someone who said their computer kept shutting down. They thought the computer was too loud so they wrapped it in a blanket, which was causing it to overheat and thermal shutdown.