• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Repairing 4032. Could I have some clues please?

acollins22

Experienced Member
Hello everyone.

I was recently given a 4032 that was working when it went into storage but isn't now and I'm trying to get it going.

It powers up with a very bingly-beep sound and produces a raster on the screen but no more than that. I've checked the 5v line and that's fine. The phi2 clock has a sawtooth wave on it. Not sure if that's good but it's something. Other pins on the 6502 are moving about. I watched A0 and A1 and they are twinkling as they should.

Looking on the video connector shows nothing but what is apparently a sync signal. Looking at the Technical manual it is the “Hor Drive” and it's at 500ns.

There is no signal on the Vert drive.

I'm a software guy by trade and not intuitive with hardware. I have a 'scope and general knowledge of how to use it but don't know what to check.

Please can someone tell me what to check next?

Thank very much.

Andy.
What does this all mean?

Hi Andy.

First things first - have you identified and obtained the correct schematics from http://www.zimmers.net/anonftp/pub/cbm/schematics/computers/pet for your model of PET? If not, do that now. You may find your specific 4032 model in the 2001N directory.

Second, some of your signals do not appear to make any sense to me. Phi2 should be a square wave not a sawtooth; and the Horizontal Drive signal should be more like 64 microseconds (500 ns is more like 2 MHz which is way tooooo high for the horizontal drive signal).

Can you tell me what make and model of 'scope and probe you have - and how you have it set up. Does the probe have a X1, X10 and/or X100 setting and (if so) what are you using? AC or DC coupling?

You should be seeing something like 64 microseconds on the horizontal drive signal and 16.7 milliseconds on the vertical drive signal.