• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Law Review Note

raoulduke

Experienced Member
As I sit here at my unpaid legal internship, my mind wanders back to a thought I first posted about on 68kmla. Those people lack vision to the utmost, so I am hoping there will be more constructive thoughts here.

I am a staff editor on a journal at Rutgers Law starting in a few weeks. It has no obvious relation to computing, but we are allowed/perhaps encouraged to write for journals. My longterm thought has been to produce the first cogent legal analysis of vintage computing. The implications fascinate me for reasons I won't go too far into.

I'm curious if anyone has any specific thoughts or ideas. I know the questions I'd like to ask: Can I legally acquire old software? What if it's been discontinued? What if I don't know if the person selling me a physical medium is the original owner [of the associated license]? Are there exceptions to the DCMA for obsolete media?*

What questions would you ask or what issues do you think are most important - or interesting? Or not important at all?

*There's a lot of misinformation floating around on the net but the short answer here is absolutely not. [Said misinformation largely concerns a 2006 suggestion by the Registrar of the Copyright Office, which was rejected.]

Last edited:
How long does it take for a copyright to expire after the last-known corporate entity owner disappears? I assume early software will all eventually enter the public domain, but when? I assume, for example, that the copyrights for DEC VMS are being maintained by the current owner, but what about RSX-11M (transferred to Mentec, which apparently has disappeared).

Is the answer different for software copyrighted by an individual than for something copyrighted by a corporation?

What about software patents?