• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Hello, looking for vintage x86 stuff! :)

bic

Hello all! I'm a currently computer science student, and just for the sake of nostalgia I decided to look for vintage 80x86 programs that have copy protection (well, just for the sake of gawking at all the weird copy protection / anti-disassembly / anti-tracing techniques used in those Good Old Days). Anyway, I came across this forum, so I decided to drop in.

Apologies for the rather ranty introduction, and thanks in advance!

Hi!

Hi!

Although not x86 that does remind me that I never figured out how they protected the original Leisure Suit Larry on the Mac.

I never did manage to make a copy of that disc ;)

-m

Just an FYI, you're not going to find much x86 discussion within vintage computing circles. It's simply too new. :) There used to be what called "The 10-Year Rule" to determine what's vintage, but that very definition has become vintage in the past few, considering the WWW, Windows, x86, etc.

Argh! In that case... any recommendations on where I can find people who do discuss (not-so-)old x86 stuff?

Anyway, thanks for the information!

bic said:
Argh! In that case... any recommendations on where I can find people who do discuss (not-so-)old x86 stuff?

Anyway, thanks for the information!

if you want to talk about 386 or older you can talk to me, while i very much
enjoy collecting software of all ages it's a real pain to manage.
so i doubt i will be much help in that direction.

mobilemaster said:
Just an FYI, you're not going to find much x86 discussion within vintage computing circles. It's simply too new. Smile There used to be what called "The 10-Year Rule" to determine what's vintage, but that very definition has become vintage in the past few, considering the WWW, Windows, x86, etc.
while i agree it is not the highlight of the board x86 platform is very old and i would
guess a lot of people have some interest in it one way or the other judging