• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Search results

1. A

Xenix External Added Hard Disk Shutdown

Hello all... just thought I'd throw this out there. I have a few Altos machines.. The 886 will cleanly unmount the system's drives at shutdown. The other older system will not. Upon reboot it fsck's the second external drive each time... I have a feeling there needs to be some sort of...
  2. A

Termcaps for VT100

Hello all.. I am not good with Termcaps and I am having an issue with this description. I need to be able to use my "backspace" or "del" key on my laptop to make corrections. It doesn't currently work with this termcap description.. anyone out there know where the modification needs to go to...
  3. A

Altos 886 ROM Update Question...

So I have an Altos 886 and it has ROM version 1.1 but I have a copy of v2.2 from another machine.. These motherboards usually always have all these after manufacturing tweaks added to them. New trace wires.. extra resistors... redirecting of traces, etc. You think updating the ROM from 1.1 to...
  4. A

Altos ***FAULT*** Failure after boot...

I'm an avid Altos collector. I dug out of one of the closets an Altos 586T to begin working on. Cleaned it all up, recapped power supply, rebuilt tape drive, cleaned floppy drive. I have a bunch of other Altos machines so been through this process before. So my first issue was a resistor blew up...
  5. A

Maxtor XT-2190 MFM Help

Ok.. so I’ve tried and tried on my Xenix box to format this drive with the specs from https://stason.org/TULARC/pc/hard-drives-hdd/maxtor/XT-2190-155MB-5-25-FH-MFM-ST506.html Well it doesn’t like to go past 16 sectors I’m pretty sure. The specs say 17. Now if I configure it with specs of...
  6. A

Help on Panasonic JU-455-2 & JU-455-5 Floppy Drives