• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Another collector

Big Blues

Experienced Member
Howdy all, I'm yet another collector. I've been collecting for years, but have never put too much effort into the collection. Now that I see the value of some of the stuff, I wish I did :p.

My first computer was an IBM PCjr back in the day, which I took a programming course for at the age of 9. Ironically I'm still a programmer, and am currently waiting for some unit tests to finish on some code that I'm working on.

On the IBM side of things, I have 2 5150's (one 16-64kb, one 64-256kb), a 5160 that's a work in progress, 5145, PCjr, PS/1 486sx, and I might be able to score my father's old PS/2 55sx. My favourites are the 5150's, both of which I scored for free in the same week 7 years ago. I've since acquired (also for free!) a 5153 monitor, the original PC printer (IBM-branded Epson, I forget model #), an original manuals for the PC (including the infamous Technical Reference that contained the BIOS listing that clone manufacturers used).

Right now I'm shooting for an IBM 5170 to add to the 51-series. I wouldn't mind the 5155 or the 5162 but they're less likely to come along.

I also have a Commodore 64, 128 and PC2-III (I think that's the right model). I had a VIC-20 that I recently gave away and completely made a kids day with. Other computers include Compaq Deskpro 386/20 (with all manuals), generic 486DX4/120-based system (PCI!), P166, Atari 130XE in the box (with printer & drive), a couple TRS-80 based systems, and some other old systems like a 286 (which escape me now).

Actually, the one 286 (which is in storage at my father's), I'd love to fire up. In the early 90's I had it setup as a file-server on my home-brew ARCNet network (running Novell Netware Lite, which someone gave me original copies of). I'm hoping it will fire up, so I can get an old-school network running again (without figuring out all the config/autoexec settings again).