• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Best way to deep clean motherboard

Madrobby

Experienced Member
I’ve now stumbled over various articles, videos etc on how to clean motherboards, but the techniques vary widely, and as I’m new to this I’m unsure who to trust and what is BS...

So, what’s your favorite method?

I have a few motherboards and cards that would benefit from a deep,cleaning, removing any debris, dust, oxidization and corrosion (if possible); and I’d like to not do damage to them in the process.

Thanks!

I use a soft bristle paintbrush and simply remove dust that way. You can also use "air in a can" to blow out debris from under ICs, etc. Most dust is a good insulator and so not a problem from an electrical standpoint.

Unless contacts are corroded, I use an aerosol contact cleaner and a soft cotton rag.

I've had a few that I've had to wash in a tub. But those were covered in conductive dust, which as Chuck (G) points out, is rare. Otherwise, I use compressed air. Just be sure to remove anything that might get blown away which you don't want to lose, such as stickers.

The board often requires to be cleaned down with a spray solvent, but you have to be careful what you use, it must not attack plastics, inks, paints or component surfaces or PCB coatings. In the USA the product I would trust for this is "CO Contact Cleaner" made by CRC (In AU I uses a similar product called "circuit board and contact cleaner" made by motortech, but it's basically the same)