• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Coding and computer logic for a complete beginner

gladders

Hi all,

I'm going to dip my toes in to coding. I'm checking out Code Academy as a start, which begins with HTML as a nice simple introduction. I'm hoping I can use these basic coding principles on some of my old machines.

But as more of a curiosity than anything I want to seriously get into, I have to ask, and this may be a real dense question and I apologise for it. I understand that languages like HTML, C and Java and so on are useful as they turn human-intelligible text into binary values that computers can understand and execute.

But what *is* it about all those ones and zeroes that, say, can culminate in something non-numerical like a spaceship on Defender or a drop-down menu on a Mac?

I can picture, for example, those values being applied to things like numerical calculation, as it's numbers. But how does, say, 4K of numbers magically produce Space Invaders or Visicalc?

I realise this may be a massively complex thing to answer that can't be done simply...but anyone want to bite?

There are a lot of textbooks covering compiler design. http://www.diku.dk/hjemmesider/ansatte/torbenm/Basics/ has a free PDF text which doesn't seem too bad at a quick glance.

Assemblers are the piece lying between compilers and machine code. The assembly code has readable equivalents for each instruction for each step of the program. Some early compilers didn't produce machine code but instead output assembly instructions that could in turn be turned into machine code. Look for one of those and the specific mechanics became readily visible. It also shows how some constructs will produce poor code.