• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Developing for the IBM PC

pontus

Veteran Member
Hi!

I just got myself an IBM 5150. And I though that it might actually be an interesting experience to do some software development for it and on it. I am a software developer by trade so I think (or at least hope) I know what I'm getting myself into. But I would like some pointers on how to set up a suitable development environment. Also a pointer to some good books or web pages on the subject would be nice.

I don't mind starting out on an emulator or more modern machine (I have a 486) if that is good stepping stone.

So, where do I start?

It all depends on to what level you want to program it. If you really want to understand how the PC work on the lowest level, I would suggest you get a book that covers the inner workings of the PC. A book I can suggest here is the revised edition of "The IBM Personal Computer from the inside-out" by Murray III Sargent and Richard L. Shoemaker. This book gives a full description of how CPUs and the x86 assembler language works (including the x87 FPU), some basics on TTL-logic, and then some chapters on the various devices that makes up the PC. It also has sections on communication, timing, and how to interface with analog devices. This book also contains a lot of references to books of futher and more detailed/technical literature.

If you just want to program, without nessecarely understanding how the PC works on a lower level, then you can read up on some 3rd-level languages like Pascal, C or Fortran. You may still be interested in learning how the BIOS interface works and how some of the devices in the PC works, like the CGA, MDA and EGA.

What language?
The purpose would be to get a bit more intimate with the IBM PC, high level stuff I do all day :) C interspersed with assembler sounds like a suitable combination.