• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

getting to know the world of VT

binary.koala

want to say hi to all the members here!
my name is Danja, live in Europe, finishing my study at the moment.
always very curious about computers and old dudes look especially charming for me. i don't own that many old pieces, but due to my artistic activity (i'm a computer media artist) have to mess around a lot :)

here, take a look at my recent "creation" -

what i have lying around me now is toshiba t1200, siemens at286 and citoh cit324l. regarding the last one there are some questions...
cit324l is a serial video terminal, manufactured 1988-90, got nice, STN kind of screen and can be mounted on the wall. there is not much info about it on the net, but as i figured out it supposed to be pretty much compatible with vt320, but so far i have no luck trying to use it with linux. unfortunetely i got no keyboard for it, so i can't enter and check any of the settings...
connected over nullmodem serial cable it reacts when i echo hello > /dev/ttyS0 but intead of "hello" i get weired stuff like question marks, brackets, high ascii symbols etc... i tryed different kinds of terminals (tho it has to work with default vt100 and even wyse) and port settings but no positive result, only garbage. my goal is to make it a terminal display, using ttysnoop to grab the output from tty1.

here is the picture of the beast with some "output" http://static.flickr.com/51/143443894_ce97caa87c_b.jpg

did anyone have experience with such devices? any vt320 owners?

my best regards to all computer lovers! :)

Welcome to the VC Forums!

You've got some cool stuff there. Someone will be along shortly to answer your specific questions, I'm sure.

Enjoy!

Make sure your comm settings are in agreement on both ends. Check start/stop bits, word length, parity, etc (although you prob'ly can't change anything on the terminal without the keyboard).

--T

Terry Yager said: