• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Hello from SE Virginia

pitlog

After hanging around here for a while and posting a bit, I realized I hadn't introduced myself.

Like many of you, I'm an older guy who lived through the whole computer revolution. I started out with a TRS-80 Model I 4K, and never stopped. Professionally, I'm a computer scientist, though mostly in management for a long while.

I'm more a user of old technology than a prolific collector, though I do have some stuff:

• An AT&T 3B2/400, complete and with lots of extras. Not running, but almost. I intend to bring it back to original someday.

• A Kaypro 4-84, completely restored, with lots of software. I'm quite interested in CP/M and am currently programming this thing in C, Pascal, and Assembly.

• An couple of old Intel boxen running UNIX System V Release 4 on a private network. I'm recreating an old style public access UNIX system from the ground up. I've been careful to use only hardware and software that were available in the late '80s and early '90s, although there are a couple of newer components in there. It's almost done, and soon I'll be asking others about the possibility of starting an old style UUCP network, probably over TCP as not many of us are running modems any more. If anyone is interested, holler!

So that's it. I do a fair amount of programming on these machines for fun, to keep my head in geeky stuff. I've been in management too long.

Oh, and I'm looking for a Xerox 820. If you know where one can be had, I'd sure be interested.

And if you're in the Hampton Roads area or are passing through, let me know and we can get together for the beverage of your choice and compare notes.

Cheers,
Tom

Welcome Tom,