• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Need help - repairing a 12-inch monochrome CRT monitor (Daewoo DM-120MWA)

inv

Hi all,

I am trying to repair a 12-inch monochrome (green) CRT monitor, Daewoo DM-120MWA, which was made in the 80s for 8-bit computers.

When I got it, it did not work at all. Perhaps somebody might have tried to fix it in the past, I guess. I am a hobbyist without any occasion to learn electronics properly. Actually, I had no background about CRT circuits, so I read some very useful information on CRT repair on the web, but I think I still don't have full understanding. So what I could do so far (see below) was limited and not enough to repair it, or to figure out exactly what part is problematic. (Need help please!)

The problem. When the monitor is turned on, a resistor (R618 in the left hand side of the schematics below) between the power supply and FBT gets very hot quickly, and eventually burns.

I could not find a schematic or service manual on the web, so I drew part of the circuits on my own (see below). It includes the power supply, horizontal and vertical circuit, but the video/audio parts are not yet drawn. I hope this is enough, because I guess the problem is in the horizontal circuit.

Partial Schematics.

1677590552698.png

The original R618 was 4.7 ohm, 0.5W (9mm long). A replacement R618 luckly lasts for 2 seconds at least, so I could turn on the monitor and quickly perform some measurements (and then turn it off) before it burns.

I meaured the current through R618 with a DMM. It was about 2A. So it was way higher than what R618 can endure.

I thought that the reason might be that the horizontal output resistor (Q601 BU806, right?) was controlling the current into FBT correctly. So I measured the voltage of the base and collector of Q601. The waveforms are as follows.

Q601 base waveform

1677591262903.png

Q601 collector waveform

1677591306477.png