• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

PDP-12 #435 at the University of Minnesota Duluth

pahp

Experienced Member
Hi, my name is Peter Peterson -- I'm an Associate Professor of CS at the University of Minnesota Duluth. We have a PDP-12 that is functional thanks to the hard work of students alongside the help of many in the community, including the late greats Warren Stearns and Charles Lasner along with Mike Thompson at RICM, Vince Slyngstad, Jack Rubin, Jim Mahaffey, and many others. We have a (currently neglected) blog, YouTube playlist, an Instagram (the PDP-12 is beautiful and deserves some glamour shots!), and I tend to post snippets about our work on my Twitter Mastodon feed. I've been meaning (for months!) to start posting more here on the VCF forums since this is where the community is.

Our specific machine (PDP-12 #435) was purchased in the early 1970s by the University of Minnesota for a grant with PI Dr. Albert Yonas of the Institute for Child Development for use in cognition experiments. Al used the PDP-12's hardware to great effect back in the 70s in classic LINC-style biomedical research -- moving dots on a screen and sampling muscle signals in very young children to track visual response time and other effects.