• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Web camera as a paper tape reader?

tingo

Veteran Member
I'm not really sure if this is the right forum, but I'll take my chances.

Has anyone tried to use a web camera (or other computer-connected camera) as an optical reader for (computer) paper tapes?

I don't know why it wouldn't work, but it would seem to be slow, given that you'd need to get a complete frame scanned before moving the tape.

Give me a bunch of photodiodes any day.

Well, most webcams (on modern machines at least) can easily do 10 - 15 frames per second I think, so the acquisition part should be fast enough. To mke the image processing fast enough, just ditch all but one of equal images. I am thinking of using a "slot" (for lack of a better word) to feed the paper tape through. This slot would be sized so that only one row of the paper tape would show at any time, this would simplify the image processing even more.

First off I should say that I have no experience with paper tape, but I do think that Chuck(G) is right about photo diodes. Surely that solution is both cheap and trivial to implement. I would think that the software would require much more work than a simple reader. Of course, many computer people shy away from even simple circuitry and would rather program their way out of a problem. Fair enough. In that case, why not use an optical mouse? I've seen them used as scanners. Just an idea. :p

The nice thing about a photodiode array is that the sprocket holes can be used to generate clock pulses. Then the speed becomes a matter of how fast you can pull the tape. No intelligence required.

Can you still get photodiodes? I checked my local electronics supplier and he has not seen them in ages.

Has he ever heard of a CD-ROM or DVD drive? I wonder what they use as detectors? Them new-fangled fiber-optic networks, it seems to me use PIN photodiodes.

If he needs a resource, tell him to contact Hamamatsu sales.