• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Wondering about a vintage computer for vintage WP5.1 DOS

Webecedarian

I'm so pleased to have stumbled across this forum, as I'm hoping for some guidance.

I mostly use the antiquated Word Perfect 5.1 DOS for word processing in a computer not hooked up to the internet, just for text. It was custom-assembled for me by a friend who liked to tinker for fun, and it's about 30 years old.

It may be finally dying, though, and I'm looking for a replacement--but also something now obsolete: A computer that has both an A-Drive for floppies and a USB port. These were being made probably about a decade ago, apparently especially by Dell. It would be hard enough just to find any floppy-USB combination, but it's even harder to find one to accommodate WP5.1. And even harder because I'm not a techie myself, and I don't know the language.

So I'm hoping for something with both an A-drive and a USB port (preferably in front), preferably weighing under 28 pounds, that would be able to have WP5.1, Corel 11, Microsoft Word (preferably an older version), and Excel. I've discovered that Dell made some models maybe about 10-15 years ago (Optiplex, Inspiron, Precision), but I don't know the difference between them, whether they could be used for WP5.1, or how to choose between them. (I called Dell, ending up talking to some guy in India who was no help.)

I'd be very grateful for any guidance.

I think just about anything could be used for WordPerfect 5.1, I’m pretty sure even a PC or XT with an 8088, if you have enough RAM. I don’t have a boxed copy of this to confirm.

The 6.0 version box mentions a 286 as minimum requirements, and recommends a 386, but I’m not sure if that mandatory or if that’s just for performance reasons.