• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Hello From Canada

Zilogoz80

Hello every body, I'm glad I found this site, it looks there is alot of people with same interests and hobby as myself, an will be nice to share experiences with all of you.

I have special interest in vintage computers as well, specifically the 8 bit ones, they are a lot of fun to program and much easy to understand.

I'm a technician, I designed my own Z80 microcomputer 15 years ago, I still work on it some times adding new things.

In my collection I have:
ZX80, ZX81, Multitech MPF I Z80, Apple II+, Commodore 64, Atari 800, Heathkit ET3400.
Well not much but all documented and with software to run in them.

Thanks, I will start posting some questions right away!

Welcome.

A ZX-80. I do remember seeing one of those in the flesh at one time but not for many, many years. Has it got the "81" upgrade or is it the real original?

Canada's a big place. Where abouts, exactly?

We have a fair smattering of Canucks taking over, umm, I mean, on the board here and some of us might be close to you.

Welcome to (The Great White North) Vintage Computer Forums (has a nice ring to it, HUH?) LOL

Hi, sorry I wasn't around.

Thanks to you all for the reply,

Well to start I'm in Calgary, Alberta (Canada),

The ZX80 I have is in original condition, no upgrades or changes to it, it says USA model on the back, It works but video is blurred, you have to tune in a TV on channel 2, I'm tempted to mod it so I can use a regular composite video input, problem is I like to keep it in its original condition (any sugestions here?).

I will be posting schematics and pictures of my Z80 microcomputer, interestig part of this design is it uses an UART 8250 to comunicate with a regular PC by RS232 com port so I can Upload and download programs, no need for drives , comunication program on the PC side is programmed on Visual Basic.

Cheers!

Hi, sorry I wasn't around.

Thanks to you all for the reply,