• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Cassette interface issue: can't load

Christoffer

Experienced Member
I'm having a problem with a 6802 based SBC i recently bought. More specifically, I can't load from cassette.
I have no problem recording to audio tapes, but when I enter the "load" routine, nothing happens.
I can play back the tape all I want, but there's neither a "it worked" promt, or a "fail" message, as there should be.
I've listened to the tape, and I can hear both the 30 second beginning and the end sound, as well as the data package between.

It's a very simple Kansas City Standard interface, and the hardware is little more than a buffer and a high pass filter on the "ear" / receive line.

Has anyone had similar issues? I'm a complete noob with cassette storage, so I don't know of any "tricks" - Could my cassette deck be playback-ing at a different speed than recording?

Any info, kinks and quirks would be much appreciated!

--Christoffer

Are you using something like a portable cassette deck?

Panasonic_RQ_2102_RQ_2102_Portable_Cassette_Recorder_684454.jpg

Make sure your volume isn't too high or too low. My ZX81 is extremely picky about the volume level.

One very much like it, a DUX (Phillips brand?) one.
It has both a "tone" and a "volume" - Am I correct in that the tone doesn't matter as long as you don't change it between save/load?
Maybe I should just try at many different volumes.

--Christoffer

Am I correct in that the tone doesn't matter as long as you don't change it between save/load?

The 'Tone' control only ever affects what happens on playback, not record. Recorders generally try to record what they are recording 'dry' (flat, with no processing) except in the case of systems like Dolby where the high frequencies are intentionally boosted during record and reduced by the same amount on playback. That won't be an issue with this simple cassette recorder.