• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

A big hello to the community

BlueofRainbow

Experienced Member
Hi,

I encountered Vintage-Computer while searching if my first personal computer was of significant collectible and/or historical importance has it has celebrated its 20th birthday a few months ago. After quite some thoughts, I decided to join this community.

I am an engineer (mineral processing) originally from “up-north” the Province of Quebec, Canada and did my undergraduate and graduate studies at McGill University in Montreal.

I have worked with many computer systems over the years and entered data via many means: punched card decks, remote terminals, hard consoles (keys and lights), keyboards and mice. I’ve had to wonder around many operating systems to get done what I had to: OS/360, RT-11, RSTS/E-11, CP/M, DOS, Windows. I also toyed with other ones: BeOS, Linux (a few flavors), Oberon and OS/2 but nothing serious with those yet.

My first personal computer is a Philips P3101 – a 5 MHz 8088 with 512k of memory and two 5-1/4” floppy drives. This system has also been known as Corona P3101. Its oldest brother (Corona P3100) had been featured in the now famous November 1982 Special Issue of Byte “Inside the IBM PC”. The significance of the Corona is that it was one of the early “IBM Compatible” available at about the same time as the Compaq.

The Philips P310x line was quite popular in Quebec at that time (1980’s). There was a simple reason. Micom (the local Philips distributor) had won the supply competition to the university cooperative stores (starting with CooPoly, based at Ecole Polytechnique, Montreal). By being member (and a student or staff), one could get a fairly decent personal system at ~15% of the general public list price. This was quite a chunk of money then and this allowed to get a “reputable” system with only a small premium over a “no-name” clone.