LD instruction not assembled CP/M 2.2

rwcooper

Hi I have a simple program named leds.asm as shown below:
ORG 0100h
LD A,3
OUT (0),A
RET
END
When I do ASM LEDS it does not assemble the LD A,3 instruction. leds.prn contains:
0100 ORG 0100h
S LD A,3
S0100 D300 OUT (0),A
0102 C9 RET
0103 END
When I dump leds.hex I get:
0000 3A 30 33 30 31 30 30 30 30 44 33 30 30 43 39 36
0010 30 0D 0A 3A 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 0D 0A
0020 1A 1A 1A 1A 1A 1A 1A 1A 1A 1A 1A 1A 1A 1A 1A 1A
There is only 3 bytes of object code, but there should be 5. The 2 bytes for the LD A,3 instruction are missing. Needless to say if I do LOAD LEDS and then run the program it does no work. I'm very new to ASM on CP/M. If I use z80asm under linux the program compiles correctly. I'd really appreciate it if someone would tell me what I am doing wrong. Thanks,

Are you sure you are not using an 8080 assembler which would not support LD A, 3?
I have no idea. It's the assembler that came with the copy of CP/M that was recommended for the SC720 Z80 computer kit. Is there some way I can check this (or maybe I already have)?

The Digital Research ASM does only emit 8080 machine language. What copyright information, if any, does the assembler emit when run?

Try changing the LD A,3 to MVI A, 3. I think that would be the 8080 equivalent. It has been a long time since I did any 8080 work so trust a manual over me.

Well, the S error code means syntax error, so that line has been ignored for some reason. I am not an expert on CP/M nor its assembler.

The Digital Research ASM does only emit 8080 machine language. What copyright information, if any, does the assembler emit when run?

Try changing the LD A,3 to MVI A, 3. I think that would be the 8080 equivalent. It has been a long time since I did any 8080 work so trust a manual over me.
Thanks for the suggestion. That will be my next step.