• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

PC 5170 need help with PAL16L8 and 28S42

JustClaire

Hello :) im new to vintage computers so sorry in advance. :p
I am currently trying to make a 5179 clone(just for fun) and i have one small problem.. PCAT Technical Reference has these ic's
  1. PAL16L8 as U130
  2. PAL16L8 as U 67
  3. 28S42 as U72
As far as i know, PAL's need to be programmed, and 28S42 is a PROM, so also needs to be programmed...
If anybody knows how to program them(i mean, what data) please tell me, ill appreciate all help :D
P.S. Sorry if im doing smth wrong, its my 2 day of going into vintage hardware :)

The data for the PALs could be a problem. AFAIK the PALs have a security fuse that disables someone to read their internal programming. You can still "read" one like a normal (EP)ROM but then you still need some analyzing software to retrieve the functions behind the data.

Thank you, there is also the problem that i dont have original PALs on hand so i cant even make the logic table.. ;-;

Maybe someone's done the work. More modern GALs (e.g. 16V8) can be used for the PALs, and quiet often a GAL with a bit of jiggering can be used for the bipolar PROM.

But yes, you need to know what was in them to begin with. I suppose you could make a decent guess on them based on analysis of the schematic and their function.

AFAIK the PALs have a security fuse that disables someone to read their internal programming. You can still "read" one like a normal (EP)ROM...

Since they are combinatorial only, I doubt they are security protected. As you said, you can dump a truth table provided you know which pins are inputs and which are outputs (some are I/O) - which can be inferred from the schematic.

...but then you still need some analyzing software to retrieve the functions behind the data.

LogicFriday is a great tool for this. But it seems the author's web-site is expired. Still available on CNET.downloads.