• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

PET 2001-8 & C2N Restoration

ajgriff

Experienced Member
Earlier this year I managed to repair an early PET 2001-8 and restore a dilapidated datasette to replace the one that was missing from the PET. This is a Dropbox link to the PDF file describing the restoration which I thought might be of interest to members here:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/f80cwfr2rj...ation.pdf?dl=0

As you will see I'm a relative novice when it comes to vintage computer repairs but I hope you'll find it an interesting read nonetheless. Please let me know if there's a problem with the link as I'm a novice when it comes to using Dropbox too!

Alan

Last edited:
I can read it fine Alan.

You may have used some of my diagnostics on the emulator card you purchased...

Dave

Thanks for confirming that the link works Dave. As you say Nivag has included a ROM image of PET Tester on the emulator board and a very handy utility it is too.

As I indicated in the document the emulator was something of an extravagance on my part but I'm not at all sorry I splashed out. I could only find three possible options when choosing an emulator but there might be others:

1. Tynemouth (UK) - Commodore PET ROM/RAM

2. bitfixer (US) - ROMulater 6502 Kit

3. NivagSwedna's Emporium (UK) - ROMulan PET RAMulator

All three come in at around the same price point in the UK once import costs are taken into account for the bitfixer kit. I opted for Nivag's board for various reasons but it would be unfair of me to comment on which is the best one to choose. I think a prospective buyer has to look at the avaialble documentation and ask questions before deciding on what suits them best.

Alan

Last edited: