• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

5150 for 335 $?!

IBM handed out BIOS upgrades for earlier PC owners. It was needed for early network adapters that did remote booting, hard drives, and anything else that might have had a ROM BIOS extension. So it is entirely possible that an early machine could have a hard drive, but it was either booting from floppies or the BIOS of the machine had been upgraded.

As noted yesterday, it was free, not for sale.

A side note to the original topic of this thread; the highest bid on this particular IBM PC has now rised from $335 to $455 with 25 hours to go.

Although one bidder with 61 positive feedbacks put in a $450 bid it seems? For what it is worth, people could have monitored eBay for years, know their stuff and typical value, but never participate in the bidding so they look like total newbies. The other three bidders registered their accounts in 2001, 2003 and 2004 but haven't used it much.

We'll see if there will be a last minute bid rally. If it already is considered much overbid, perhaps not much more will happen.

There was a broken 5150 in the UK at the end of July. The monitor was tested OK, but the computer was silent and didn't power up the monitor. It ended at £9.99. Another one sells an untested 5150 spare parts machine with a broken, aftermarket PSU. Despite being relisted several times, it hasn't received a bid, starting at £0.99.

Sure, you can't compare broken units or spare parts with a fully working computer in nice condition, but let's assume you could've combined the two above to one working 5150 in good condition for £12 + domestic shipping. That is quite less than $450 + overseas shipping. Dongfeng also wrote earlier in this thread that he had been offered a complete system for equal to $85. It would be a private deal, maybe special friend's price, but I dunno if the seller could get 3-4 times as much if sold on e.g. eBay UK.