• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Commodore pet 2001-8 no video from logic board

RetroGadgetMan

Experienced Member
Hi all, my first post.
I have a commodore pet 2001-8 with no video output from J7 on the logic board.

Using a logic probe set to pulse. Out of all the ics in locations C D and E on the logic board, the following pulsed.
E1 pin6
E3 pin12
D8 pin 8,9 and 10
C9 pin1
No pulsing from any other ics in these locations.
No pulsing from J7 the CRT conecting point.
I am assuming pin 1 is the top left of the ic with location lug at the top.
Sorry I am new to all this but a keen learner.
I can confirm the CRT and crt video board are working as I have tested these on another pets output.
Any help would be much appreciated.
Thanks Frank

Last edited:
Welcome. You have come to the right place!

First thing we need to identify is the schematic related to your specific machine. Have a look over here: http://www.zimmers.net/anonftp/pub/cbm/schematics/computers/pet/.

If you can't find your machine - can you post a photograph of the main logic board please.

Second, I see you have a logic probe. I assume you have a multimeter? Do you have access to an oscilloscope?

The usual first step is to measure the voltages on the DC voltage rails to ensure they are within specification. If not, the machine will not work correctly.

Can I suggest that you add your location to your profile. You will also be under moderation for the first 10 posts - so we will need to take things slowly until you reach that post count (as there will be a delay between you posting and us seeing it.

>>> I am assuming pin 1 is the top left of the ic with location lug at the top.

Yes.

Dave

Welcome. You have come to the right place!

First thing we need to identify is the schematic related to your specific machine. Have a look over here: http://www.zimmers.net/anonftp/pub/cbm/schematics/computers/pet/.